Friday, February 25, 2011

The Most Wanted

One of the books that students are checking out the most is the trilogy of the Hunger Games by Suzane Collins. Check them Out too! Visit their site The Hunger Games

In the first book of the trilogy The Hunger Games, the future America (now called Panem) is made up of 12 Districts, each District serves the Capitol. The Capitol controls the districts and forces them to work while keeping them in poverty.  Every year the Government living in the Capitol hosts The Hunger Games, where a boy and a girl (aged 12 - 18) from each of the 12 Districts is selected at random to enter in a reality show where all 24 'tributes' will have to kill or be killed in an arena.The last survivor "Winner"  will return to their District as a hero with a new life of fame and fortune and the Governments reward of one years supply of food for their District.In Book #1 sixteen years old Katniss Evergreen volunteered to be contender in the Hunger Games.

About the Author

Suzanne Collins is the author of the New York Times bestselling Underland Chronicles series, which has more than one million books in print and is available in seven foreign editions. In the award-winning The Hunger Games and Catching Fire, Collins continues to explore the effects of war and violence on those coming of age. Also a successful writer for children's television, Collins lives with her family in Connecticut. Visit her at

No comments:

Post a Comment

Books Into Movies